The Thunder Of Giants, By Joel Fishbane

Frogs

Seymour Simon

“Another incredible photoessay from Seymour Simon”

Winter 2015

Diamond Boy

Michael Williams

“A haunting, harrowing tale guaranteed to give ‘bling’ a whole new meaning.”
Kirkus

Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Winter 2014
Diamond Boy, By Michael Williams
The Thunder Of Giants, By Joel Fishbane

The Thunder of Giants

Joel Fishbane

“Take equal parts Peter Carey, Michael Chabon and Erin Morgenstern, throw them in a blender, and serve in a glass with a seven-foot, five-and-a-half-inch Krazy Straw. The colossally entertaining result is Joel Fishbane's The Thunder of Giants.”
—Myla Goldberg

Spring 2015

Gracefully Grayson

Ami Polonsky

“Don’t be intimidated when I say that Gracefully Grayson is an important book. (It is.) It’s also a brave, exhilarating, heart-stopping, roller-coaster ride of self-discovery that will leave you cheering.”
—Dean Pitchford,
Award-winning author and Academy Award-winning songwriter

Fall 2014
Gracefully Grayson, By Ami Polonsky
FDR And The American Crisis, By Albert Marrin

FDR And The American Crisis

Albert Marrin

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Kirkus (starred review)

Winter 2014
The Half Life Of Molly Pierce, By Katrina Leno

The Half Life of Molly Pierce

Katrina Leno

“Possibly … the most thrilling, suspenseful and mysterious book of 2014.”
Teenreads

Summer 2014
Disaster Strikes, Earthquake Shock, By Marlane Kennedy Disaster Strikes, Tornado Alley, By Marlane Kennedy

Disaster Strikes Series—
Earthquake Shock and Tornado Alley

Marlane Kennedy

“First in a new series of disaster stories, this holds strong appeal for both girls and boys and features a diverse cast of characters.”
Booklist

Summer 2014
The Body In The Woods, By April Henry

The Body in the Woods

April Henry

“A quick, thrilling read that doesn’t skimp on characterization.”
Kirkus

Summer 2014
Isabel's War, by Lila Perl

Isabel’s War

Lila Perl

Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Winter 2014
Cassidy's Guide To Everyday Manners And Obfuscation, By Sue Stauffacher

Cassidy’s Guide to Everyday Manners and Obfuscation

Sue Stauffacher

Spring 2015

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me

Julie Anne Peters

“Peters has written another insightful, absorbing novel of relationships that is both emotionally and intellectually satisfying.”
Booklist

Summer 2014
Lies My Girlfriend Told Me, By Julie Anne Peters
The Volcano Beneath The Snow, John Brown's War On Slavery, By Albert Marrin Thomas Paine, Crusader For Liberty, By Albert Marrin

The Volcano Beneath the Snow: John Brown’s War on Slavery

Albert Marrin

Congratulations to Albert Marrin on five starred reviews: Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Booklist, VOYA, Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“One of the best books of 2014.”
School Library Journal

Spring 2014

Thomas Paine, Crusader for Liberty

A new biography from National Endowment of the Humanities medalist Albert Marrin.

Fall 2014
Tales From My Closet, By Jennifer Anne Moses

Tales from My Closet

Jennifer Anne Moses

“Reminiscent of Ann Brashares’s The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.”
School Library Journal

Spring 2014

The Mirk and Midnight Hour

Jane Nickerson

“Far from the typical Civil War romance ... with rich imagery and imaginative subplots driving the storyline.”
Kirkus

Spring 2014
The Mirk And Midnight Hour, By Jane Nickerson

The Secret of Ferrell Savage

J. Duddy Gill

“Offer this fine first novel to fans of Janet Tashjian’s My Life series or the Big Nate books by Lincoln Peirce.”
Booklist

Spring 2014
The Secret Of Ferrell Savage, By J. Duddy Gill

Nickel Bay Nick

Dean Pitchford

“This fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Holes and Okay for Now.”
School Library Journal

Nickel Bay Nick, By Dean Pitchford
Obi, Gerbil On A Mission, By M.C. Delaney Obi, Gerbil On The Loose, By M.C. Delaney Obi, Gerbil On A School Trip, By M.C. Delaney

Obi—
Gerbil on a School Trip!
Gerbil on the Loose! Gerbil on a Mission!

Michael Delaney

“An entertaining romp.”
Kirkus

2011 Florida Sunshine State Children’s Choice Award

Captain Nobody, By Dean Pitchford

Captain Nobody

Dean Pitchford

“Captain Nobody is truly somebody you will love spending time with.”
—Henry Winkler

Nominated Book of the Year or Named to Best Books Lists in: Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee.

The Flatiron

Alice Sparberg Alexiou

“Alexiou ... has written an engaging and informative account of the building’s construction and its lasting place in New York’s lore.”
Washington Post

The Flatiron, By Alice Alexiou

You Know What You Have to Do

Bonnie Shimko

“I wish—oh, how I wish—that I’d written this myself.”
—Lois Duncan

You Know What You Have To Do, By Bonnie Shimko
The Girl Who Was Supposed To Die, By April Henry

The Girl Who Was Supposed to Die

April Henry

A Scholastic Book Club Bestseller;
YALSA Quick Pick;
YALSA Top 10 nominee

Sharks, By Seymour Simon Lightning, By Seymour Simon

Sharks

Seymour Simon

“Combines seamless description with excellent photos to describe creatures that never fail to fascinate.”
School Library Journal

Lightning

“Simon’s simple yet dramatic description of lightning as a ‘river of electricity rushing through an ocean of air’ sets the tone for this excellent photo-essay.”
Booklist

The Universe, By Seymour Simon Extreme Earth Records, By Seymour Simon

The Universe

Seymour Simon

Extreme Earth Records

“An artful blend of text and image.”
Kirkus

By the Time You Read This, I’ll Be Dead

Julie Anne Peters

YALSA 2011 Quick Pick

By The Time You Read This, I'll Be Dead, By Julie Anne Peters
Now Is The Time For Running, By Michael Williams

Now Is the Time for Running

Michael Williams

“This book should be required reading for humanity.”
—Chris Crutcher

Kirkus Best Book of the Year;
ALA Best Fiction for the Young Adult

The Big One-Oh, By Dean Pitchford

The Big One-Oh

Dean Pitchford

“The book is captivating, hilarious, and occasionally heartbreaking. What fun!”
—John Lithgow

“Mix some birthday anxiety with a little movie-monster magic and it equals a funny and triumphant journey of self-discovery.”
—Jamie Lee Curtis

Strands of Bronze and Gold

Jane Nickerson

Kids’ Indie Next List

Strands Of Bronze And Gold, By Jane Nickerson
Flesh & Blood So Cheap: The Triangle Fire And Its Legacy, By Albert Marrin

Flesh & Blood So Cheap: The Triangle Fire and Its Legacy

Albert Marrin

2011 National Book Award finalist

Miss Spitfire, Reaching Helen Keller, By Sarah Miller

Miss Spitfire: Reaching Helen Keller

Sarah Miller

Miss Spitfire is everything a historical novel should be—richly imagined, true to its period, and providing an engaging story that will feel completely relevant to modern readers.”
Teen Reads Too

The Night She Disappeared, By April Henry

The Night She Disappeared

April Henry

YALSA Quick Pick;
YALSA Teens Top 10 finalist; International Reading Association’s Young Adult Choice’s List

The Lost Crown

Sarah Miller

“Tsar Nicholas II’s four ill-fated daughters provide a fictional, inside look at Imperial Russia’s dying days in this thoroughly researched, poignant and compelling account of how the deposed Romanovs coped with abdication and arrest from 1914 to 1918.”
Kirkus (starred review)

The Lost Crown, By Sarah Miller

Luna

Julie Anne Peters

National Book Award finalist

Luna, By Julie Anne Peters
Wickett's Remedy, By Myla Goldberg

Wickett’s Remedy

Myla Goldberg

“Brilliant.”
Newsday

“Remarkable.”
Salon

The False Friend

Myla Goldberg

“Goldberg uses beautiful, emotionally descriptive language to keep us with one ear to the ground, listening for the slow, quiet footsteps of creeping tragedy.”
Booklist

The False Friend, By Myla Goldberg
Buried, By Robin Merrow Maccready

Buried

Robin Merrow MacCready

Edgar Award winner

Donuthead, By Sue Stauffacher

Donuthead

Sue Stauffacher

“Sue Stauffacher has crafted characters full of wit and sensitivity, with a little anti-bacterial soap thrown in for good measure.”
—Goodreads

Motel Art Improvement Service, By Jason Little

Motel Art Improvement Service

Jason Little

Sequel to the Ignatz Award–winning Shutterbug Follies.

Between Mom And Jo, By Julie Anne Peters

Between Mom
and Jo

Julie Anne Peters

Lambda Award winner

Miss Spitfire, Reaching Helen Keller, By Sarah Miller

Miss Spitfire: Reaching Helen Keller

Sarah Miller

Miss Spitfire is everything a historical novel should be—richly imagined, true to its period, and providing an engaging story that will feel completely relevant to modern readers.”
Teen Reads Too

Girl Stolen

April Henry

YALSA Quick Pick;
YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults;
Barnes & Noble Top Teen Pick

Girl Stolen, By April Henry
Carolina Clay, The Life And Legend Of The Slae Potter Dave, By Leonard Todd

Carolina Clay: The Life and Legend of the Slave Potter Dave

Leonard Todd

“Todd studied each of Dave’s poems for biographical clues, which he pieced together with local records and family letters to create this moving and dramatic chronicle of Dave’s life—a story of creative triumph in the midst of slavery.”
—Goodreads

Journalism's Roving Eye, By John Maxwell Hamilton

Journalism’s Roving Eye

John Maxwell Hamilton

“It is rare that a study appears that sets a new standard in its field. Journalism’s Roving Eye is such a book.”
—James D. Startt, Valparaiso University

Harvard Goldsmith Prize, Tankard Book Award, American Journalism Historians Association Book of the Year Award

Jane Jacobs, Urban Visionary, By Alice Sparberg Alexiou

Jane Jacobs, Urban Visionary

Alice Sparberg Alexiou

“Jacobs’s legacy can be seen in the New Urbanism, in the landmark-preservation movement and in the brain cells of architecture and city-planning students everywhere.”
New York Times

She Loves, She Loves You Not..., By Julie Anne Peters

She Loves You, She Loves You Not ...

Julie Anne Peters

It’s Our Prom (So Deal With It)

Julie Anne Peters

It's Our Prom (So Deal With It), By Julie Anne Peters

Devoured

Amanda Marrone

“... the book will be devoured by fans of the supernatural.”
School Library Journal

She Loves, She Loves You Not..., By Julie Anne Peters

Nothing but Trouble: The Story of Althea Gibson

Sue Stauffacher
Illustrated by Greg Couch

“Sue Stauffacher’s lively text, paired with vibrant paintings by artist Greg Couch, captures the exuberance, ambition, and triumph of this remarkable woman.”
—Goodreads

Nothing But Trouble, The Story Of Althea Gibson, By Sue Stauffacher
Tillie The Terrible Swede, By Sue Stauffacher, Illustrated By Sarah McMenemy

Tillie the Terrible Swede

Sue Stauffacher
Illustrated by Sarah McMenemy

“Sue Stauffacher’s lively text and Sarah McMenemy’s charming illustrations capture the energy of America’s bicycle craze and tell the story of one woman who wouldn’t let society’s expectations stop her from achieving her dream.”
—Goodreads

Catching The Moon, By Myla Goldberg, Pictures By Chris Sheban

Catching the Moon

Myla Goldberg
Pictures by Chris Sheban

“This delightful book is not to be missed.”
School Library Journal